Grief + Loss Counseling ~ Agoura Hills + Ojai, CA and Online in California and Illinois

The losses we experience in life have many forms: losing a loved one, pet, object, ending a relationship or job, moving, birthdays, new years, and much more. The severity of grief we experience over any loss relates to the meaning we ascribed to what we lost.

Every transition and change in life contains a loss. We lose something in order to gain something. Sometimes we are not ready or prepared for to experience a loss in life and grief can hijack us and consume us. Grieving is a healthy process even though at time, it can be quite painful.

What is grief?

Grief in itself a bit hard to define. It is an emotional response (generally lots of confusing mixed emotions) to the loss of someone or something that was known to us. Grief also shows up when we experience life transitions or change in our lives.

Some events that may trigger grief:

  • Death of a loved one
  • End of a relationship
  • Loss of a job
  • Relocation/moving
  • Getting married
  • Becoming pregnant
  • Having a child 
  • Becoming a parent
  • Starting school
  • Graduating or ending school
  • Injury to the body
  • Change in health or illness
  • Parent becoming sick or ill
  • Illness or new health diagnosis

During the grieving process, it is normal to experience a wide range of emotions.

  • Anger or irritability
  • Sadness or crying
  • Feeling numb or empty
  • Confusion
  • Guilt
  • Shame
  • Shock or feeling frozen
  • Oversleeping or lack of sleep
  • Overeating or lack of eating
  • Extreme restlessness
  • Anxiety or PTSD
  • Gaps in memory
  • Looking or searching for a loved one or pet
  • Strange dreams or nightmares

It’s important to remember that everyone experiences grief differently.

Grief has no set time limit and can be short or long lasting. Grief never really goes away but it can become more tolerable to deal with as time goes on.

“Grief can be the garden of compassion. If you keep your heart open through everything, your pain can become the greatest ally in your life’s search for love and wisdom.”


According to Elizabeth Kubler- Ross, there are five stages to grief: Depression, Anger, Denial, Bargaining, and Acceptance.

There is no set order to the grieving process. One may go through the stages once or multiple times in any sequence. Many times friends and family will try to “fix” you by providing you with advice or solutions to what you are feeling. However, you are the only one that knows your grieving process and what is helpful to you.

Grief + Loss Counseling can help you process your loss so you can heal and re-connect back yourself and your life:

Therapy can be helpful to help identify where you are in your grieving process, process your emotions, and navigate this painful time so you can work towards rebuilding your identity and reclaim your power and strength so you may continue on your path and life journey. I have received training as a Grief Specialist and would be honored to help guide you through this difficult life transition.

Scroll to Top Skip to content